Board of Commissioners

The Metro Bus Board of Commissioners is made up of five members. Two members representing the City of St. Cloud. One member each from the City of Sartell, City of Sauk Rapids, and City of Waite Park. Board members traditionally have been either the current elected Mayor or City Council member.

Elections are held in July in even numbered years to determine which member will serve as the Board's Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Treasurer and Secretary. A member may nominate themselves or another member to serve a particular position on the Board. A vote among members will determine who wins the nomination.

Metro Bus Transit Commission Board Meetings
The Commission meets at 4:00 pm on the third Tuesday of each month to conduct business which includes reviewing the operating data, budgets and determining policy. 


The current Metro Bus Board of Commissioners as of July2014: 

Chair, Dave Kleis, Mayor, City of St. Cloud
Phone: 320.253.9535

Dave Kleis joined the Metro Bus Board of Commissioners in 2005 after being elected Mayor of St. Cloud.  He is a Magna Cum Laude 1989 graduate of St. Cloud State University, and a nine year veteran of the Air Force and Air Force Reserve.

He served the St. Cloud area in the Minnesota Senate from 1994 through 2005---seven years as Assistant Senate Minority Leader and six years as ranking Minority member on the Senate Crime Prevention Committee.

He established and owns the Central Minnesota Driving Academy since 1991, a driver’s education business that employs 25 people in St. Cloud.

Dave was elected by the St. Cloud community as mayor in November 2005. In June 2007, Governor Pawlenty appointed Mayor Kleis to the Commission on Judicial Selection. He also serves on numerous local boards and committees within the St. Cloud community. 


Vice Chair, Rick Miller, Mayor, City of Waite Park
Phone: 320.253.1129
Rick joined the Metro Bus board in 2013. He's been the Mayor of Waite Park since 2001, and prior to that he served on the City Council for 10 years. He served 12 years in the US Navy and Naval Reserves and is a Vietnam Veteran. Rick also served 21 years as a volunteer firefighter for Waite Park. Rick is married and has two children.





Treasurer, Carolyn Garven, Council Member, City of St. Cloud
Phone: 320.252.7737

Carolyn joined the Metro Bus board in July 2006 after being appointed by the City Council to represent the City of St. Cloud. Carolyn began her involvement in city government in 1999 by running for a City Council position representing the East Side of St. Cloud. She is completing her fourth four-year term in 2015. She is a retired public school teacher, teaching for over 30 years in the Sauk Rapids school system. She is married to James and has two married daughters and five grandchildren. When she isn’t busy volunteering you will find her spending time with her grandchildren or walking her dog Skip in Wilson Park. Carolyn enjoys public service. Besides serving on the Metro Bus Board of Commissioners, she also serves on the St. Cloud Arts Commission, the North East Wilson Park Neighborhood Association, the St. Cloud Neighborhood Coalition, and currently chairs St. Cloud’s Granite City Days Event. Carolyn appreciates the opportunity to serve our residents on the Metro Bus Commission.


Secretary, Amy Braig-Lindstrom, Council Member, City of Sartell
Phone: 320.259.7982

Amy was appointed to the Metro Bus commission in July of 2013, after being elected to the Sartell City Council in 2012. A native of Dubuque, IA, Amy also made homes in Flagstaff, AZ. and Latham, NY. She is currently a member of the Human Rights Commission Advisory Board and has founded farmers' markets in upstate NY as well as Central Minnesota. Amy owns and operates her own pottery studio and exhibiting her work locally. She is married with two kids, two cats and two dogs. 






Member, Kurt Hunstiger, Council Member, City of Sauk Rapids
Phone: 320.259.1325  

Kurt HunstigerKurt was appointed to the Metro Bus commission of July 2014, after being elected to the Sauk Rapids City Council in 2013. Kurt is a certified financial planner for Bremer Bank. He's been an active community member for many years. This is his second stint on the City Council, having served from 2001-2007 the first time. He also is a member of the Catholic Charities of the Dioceses of St. Cloud's Capital Campaign team and St. Cloud Whitney Center's Advisory Board. In the past, he's served on the Sauk Rapids HRA Board, Sauk Rapids Planning Commission, Sauk Rapids Joint Planning Board and St. Peter's Church Finance Council.

Click for Detours & AlertsClick for College ServicesClick to Learn How to Ride Metro BusClick for Dial-a-Ride ServicesClick to Learn about U-Go Free Summer Youth PassClick to Catch the LinkClick to Purchase Passes Online